The UKC Bucket List – Part One

Having graduated from the University of Kent in July, I have spent the last 2 weeks (Freshers) in a state of depression. No longer does my life consist of drinking snakebite, going out on weeknights, ordering dominoes as a ‘midnight snack’, waking up at noon and struggling to make it to 4 hours of seminars a week. It consists of a 9-5 job, early nights and the occasional glass of wine when I feel I’ve really ‘earned it’.

Facebook status’ about ‘heading back to Uni’ and ‘Fresherrrssss’, snapchats from friends who have another year left at Uni, photos of Wednesday nights at Venue (Vensday) and the sinking feeling I get when I remember I can no longer get student discount at Topshop or New Look, feel like salt being rubbed into my very deep post Uni wound.

When it came to my last term of University, I could suddenly hear a time bomb ticking in my ear – I hadn’t done half of the things I had planned to do whilst living in Canterbury.

Everyone has a bucket list of things you ‘must do’ whilst at Uni – Frosty Jack’s challenge, join a society, kiss a stranger, prank your housemates (scattering a whole yellow pages across their bedroom floor, abducting their beloved toy, duck taping their bedroom door, filling their bed with flying saucers and labeling every item in their room with sticky notes… to name a few), steal a road sign, dress up in outrageous fancy dress costumes, buy a pet, the list goes on and on (check out this link for more bucket list ideas).

Anyways… these are all things, which students want to do because, lets face it, Uni is the only place where you can do it without being labeled an alcoholic, lose a friend or get arrested.

However, in my last 6 weeks of Uni, my biggest concern was that I hadn’t experienced everything Canterbury had to offer. Therefore, I wrote a bucket list of everything I needed to have seen and done before I had to reluctantly leave. And for all of you lucky UKC freshers out there, here it is! Some of these may be obvious and others not so much (number 2) – I have split this post into two parts as it is rather long… I hope it comes in handy!!

1. Walk around the Cathedral

I know this is a given however, you’d be surprised by the number of people I met in my third year who had never been into the Cathedral! Its architecture is breathtaking, its grounds are calming and peaceful and its crypt is endearing/a little creepy.

My male housemate and I (guys, it doesn’t make you any less ‘cool’ if you go into the Cathedral voluntarily) used to wander into town (usually to put off writing our essays) and  meander around the Cathedral, learning about its incredible history and envisioning the idyllic wedding we could have if we got a first in our degree (okay, that was just me, and I didn’t get a first, but just imagine it…).

Canterbury cathedral wedding photos

Entry is free for students who are studying in Canterbury, so you have no excuse!

Try and get tickets to the Christmas Carols in December as well, they’re free and in high demand but it’s just magical.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

2. Laser Rush in Whitstable

Don’t get too excited.. but YES there is a Laser Tag just a 20 minutes drive from Canterbury!!! When I was told this valuable piece of information, my inner child jumped for joy. I LOVE LASER TAG.

At just £4 for one game, £7 for two games and £9.50 for three games, it won’t stretch your vodka fund and is something a bit different to do before a night out or for a birthday etc.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

3. Do a pub crawl

This one is pretty self explanatory – go to as many pubs in Canterbury as you can before you graduate! Some of my favourite pubs are: The Cherry Tree, The Parrot, The Kings Head, The Dolphin, The Three Tuns, The Old Buttermarket and Spoons (obvs).

Apparently there are around 30/40 pubs in the city. How many can you tick off your list?

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

4. Go to Siesta (a shop opposite La Trappiste)

This shop sells everything I love.

Incense sticks (Ganesh is my scent of choice), Buddhas, Aladdin pants, precious stone rings, meditation CD’s, worry dolls, singing bowls… I could go on forever. My point is, if you’re weird like me and adore everything cultural and spiritual then you have to go to this shop! I used to go here every time I was in town and will, without a doubt, be visiting this weekend as I am back Canterbury. Eeekk I’m so excited!

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

5. See Coco and the Butterfields live

Coco and the Butterfields are an up and coming local ‘fip fok’ band (a mix between folk, hip hop, pop and rap) who can be spotted busking on Canterbury’s high street, playing gigs in local pubs and bars and this year, playing at Glastonbury festival (congrats guys!!) Consisting of a violin, banjo, beat boxer, guitar, chello and singer, they are a one of a kind band.

I’ve been lucky enough to see them live three times now. They are energetic, out-there, engaging and so so SO fun! Make sure you see them while you can… as I have no doubt they will be huge in no time!

They have performed during Worldfest on the University of Kent campus for the past few years and have also played at The Ballroom in town. Check out their website here to find out more.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

SO, get exploring and stay tuned for part two!

See you tomorrow Canterbury 😀 😀 😀

7 thoughts on “The UKC Bucket List – Part One

  1. Pingback: My Top Travel Destinations of 2014 | The Globe-Trotting Graduate

  2. Ooh! This sounds exciting. I’m going to have to include these into my UKC to-do list! 😀 I’m so excited to join your alma mater in a few weeks!
    p.s. I see your “About Me” says you’re an ‘India’ enthusiast – how was/is your trip there going? (I ask because I’m Indian and it’s always exciting to see a foreigner take interest in your culture and home). I do hope my country is treating you well. 🙂

    • Hi Adi 🙂 , thanks for commenting! I’m so so jealous that you’re going to UKC, you are going to have the best time! Canterbury is such a beautiful city… although, it is very different to India hahah. Are you living in student accommodation for your first year? I absolutely LOVE India!! I have been there twice and am going back again in December to explore the South a bit more 🙂 . Where abouts are you from? X

      • I know – I’m really pumped! I bet it is very different from India! 😀
        I am in student accommodation – I’ve been placed in a Parkwood House, which I hear is all sorts of exciting!
        It’s so wonderful that you’ve been to India twice already and still plan to return. I haven’t been down south myself, but I hear the state of Kerala is especially beautiful with its serene backwaters and lagoons. I’m from Kolkata on the east, but I grew up in Pune (near Mumbai) on the west coast. I didn’t really spend a whole lot of time in India – I shuttled between Oman and India, and recently I’ve been in the States for college. ^_^ It feels like I’m doing all the travelling there is to do!

      • That’s where I lived 😀 😀 !! Do you know, which court you have been placed in yet? Parkwood is great and has lots of countryside and wildlife surrounding it as well, which is always lovely 🙂 . Yeahhhh, on my last trip I visited Kerala but it was for a very short amount of time so want to go back and explore a lot more! Wow, it sounds like you’ve had a very globe-trotting lifestyle so far hahah. If you don’t mind me asking… what made you choose Kent Uni? X

      • I’m in Farthings Court. Right on the edge of the woods, I believe!
        I actually chose UKC because of the program. I’ll be doing an MA in Peace and Conflict Studies, and my particular program lets me do my second year in Germany, along with a 10 week internship anywhere else in the world between both academic years. So ultimately, even though both the unis were ranked the lowest among all the schools I got accepted to, I liked the program the best. Plus for a program like mine, I thought the extended international exposure would be really beneficial!

Leave a comment